Secret Norfolk: Sustainability

As the world starts to take sustainable shopping more seriously, you’ll be relieved to know that Norfolk is not lagging behind. Sustainability and ethical consumerism are complex issues, but any move to reduce waste and your carbon footprint is a move to buy better. So, if you’re trying to clean up your act in 2019, take a look at some of the best places in Norfolk…

Norwich Market | Image: Nick Farrow

Shopping

Whether you’re looking for refillables, reusables or just to reduce your waste, there are some great local shops. If you’re in Norwich, pop to Rainbow Wholefoods (www.rainbowwholefoods.co.uk) in The Lanes, Norwich Market for fresh fruit and veg without plastic, or The Green Grocers (http://www.thegreengrocers.co.uk) on Earlham Road. Or, further East is The Green Lady Eco store in Lowestoft which also allows you to shop online: https://greenladyecostore.squarespace.com.

Eating out

Advertisement

The easiest way to reduce waste and your carbon footprint is to eat at home, however there’ll always be times when you’re out and about and want to grab a coffee or enjoy a night out. Committed to making sustainable, carbon-neutral choices where possible, you won’t go wrong with a trip to either Erpingham House https://www.erpinghamhouse.comin Tombland (perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner!) or The Greenhouse Trust café http://greenhousetrust.co.uk on Bethel Street (great for a light lunch or coffee and cake). If you want to go further out of town, pop along to the Green Parrot in Swaffham: www.green-parrot.co.uk

Backpackers hostel

Accommodation

If you’re holidaying in Norfolk this year, you’ll be pleased to know there are some eco-friendly options here too. If you’re visiting the coast then Deepdale Hostel and Campsite (https://www.deepdalebackpackers.co.uk) or Mill Farm Eco Barn (https://www.millfarm-ecobarn.co.uk) are both great choices. If you’re planning a trip to the Norfolk Broads The Waveney River Centre (https://www.waveneyrivercentre.co.uk) has been awarded David Bellamy’s Gold Conservation Award and offers both lodges and camping facilities.

Lastly, if you need a taxi to get you home after a night out, or take you to the shops or train station, you’ll be pleased to know that a zero emissions Taxi Firm has opened in Norwich. Find out more about Zero Taxis here: www.zerotaxis.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.