BBC Symphony Orchestra Huw Watkins piano Oliver Knussen conductor Copland Music for a Great City Philip Cashian Piano Concerto. The Book of Ingenious Devices (world premiere) Feldman Structures Copland Appalachian Spring Suite Bold lines, primary colours and a rhythmic energy that speaks plainly and without compromise – Copland’s music has a personality that’s hard to ignore, whether he’s evoking a Pennsylvanian farm wedding or the urban canyons of Manhattan. In this arresting programme, Oliver Knussen pairs major Copland orchestral works with music by Feldman – a composer who took Copland’s all-American simplicity and refined it into a vision of the infinite – and a new concerto by Philip Cashian, premiered by fellow composer Huw Watkins.

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.