Melinda Maxwell oboe d’amore Clio Gould violin Jane Atkins viola Kate Gould cello Simon Holt Llanto (para las chumberas) Lament [for the prickly pears] (Aldeburgh Festival commission, world premiere) Bach arr. Sitkovetsky Goldberg Variations A new chamber work for a wind instrument of the baroque proceeds and one of the pivotal works of that – or any – musical era. The art of transcription can change our perceptions, uncover myriad new details – and reinforce the music’s greatness. Violinist Dimitry Sitkovetsky’s evergreen arrangement of Bach’s iconic keyboard variations allows us to look at a familiar work from a new angle. Simon Holt’s new quartet is an agitated little elegy that draws on the keening sound of the oboe d’amore so often utilised by Bach in his sacred music.

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.