Piatti Quartet Pavel Kolesnikov, Samson Tsoy piano Stravinsky Three Pieces for Quartet Britten Mazurka elegaica Stravinsky Concerto for Two Pianos Britten Introduction and Rondo alla Burlesca Britten Quartet No.1 Op.25 Auden characterised the middle decades of the twentieth century as an ‘age of anxiety’, but the creative minds of Stravinsky and the young Britten struck sparks in the gathering gloom. Three quirky and distinctive experiments for piano duo form the core of this programme, while the Piatti Quartet frames them with two musical harbingers of new, if troubled, worlds: Stravinsky’s three miniatures from 1914 (originally for piano duet), and Britten’s quartet – written in wartime America and described by the composer David Matthews as ‘fiercely happy’. Britten Studio, Snape

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.