Our season opens with a celebration of the 25th Anniversary of the University of Hertfordshire with three popular and uplifting works. The second half of the programme is formed by Brahms’ brilliant Second Symphony, which will conclude the concert in a blaze of glory. The first half includes the Mendelssohn Violin concerto, always a favourite with audiences, with Leo Appel as soloist. We begin the concert in a suitably studious mood with Brahms’ Academic Festival overture, written as a ‘thank you’ to the University of Breslau for his honorary doctorate and featuring the student hymn ‘Gaudeamus Igitur’

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.